Author Topic: LCD Monitor issues/Repair  (Read 13618 times)

Offline NevakonazaTopic starter

• Contributor
LCD Monitor issues/Repair
« on: January 06, 2013, 06:17:18 pm »
Hey guys,

Hopefully i can get some help,Now im new to electronics but its something ive always been intrested in and want to learn.

I have a LCD monitor here,22" belinea 0. display,Its been in the loft/Attic for a while,In its original box & wrappings all sealed up..it was fully working when it went up and now its not.

When i first switched it on..the green light,and the screen were flashing very quick..then i turned it off and tried again...nothing,No lights...no sighn of life.

So i open up the back to take a look inside (for bulging caps etc) they "Visually" look fine,I have replaced the T2 5Amp fuse on the PSU board...plugged it in and tried again,The green light flashes and so does the screen very fast..but that's it.

Not sure whats happened to it to be honest,It was going to a friend as he has a 14" monitor lol.

Would you say its a cap problem?...or a problem with the board that recieves the signal from the pc?

The PSU board has 12 caps.

5x 470mf 35v
5x470 mf 25v
2x 1000 mf 16v

Appreciate any help here,please excuse the noob-ness. :D
« Last Edit: January 06, 2013, 06:19:24 pm by Nevakonaza »

Offline marshallh

• Supporter
    • retroactive
Re: LCD Monitor issues/Repair
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2013, 06:59:04 pm »
Possible causes that come to mind

1. Bad CCFL tube (unlikely as they will last 5-8 years in consumer elec.)
2. Open/shorted HV transformer windings (usually thermal stress/shock related)
3. Controller board failure (unlikely)
4. Power supply problem (more likely)

Take clear, well lit and focused pictures of each pcb. If you're lucky the voltages coming off the (usually separate) power supply pcb may be labeled. You're right that caps are usually the first thing to go.