Author Topic: Leica Battery Charger repair  (Read 5611 times)

Offline Dan666Topic starter

• Contributor
Leica Battery Charger repair
« on: September 18, 2017, 05:00:16 pm »
Hi,
I'm a newbie when it comes to electronics, but I like to experiment and, possibly, fix my stuff.

The new thing that stopped working is the Leica M8 battery charger, an Ansmann AN13805, which incidentally costs ~170$ new.

The thing has two leds: a green one which turns on when you plug it in - and it's working - and a orange one that turns on when it's charging, which doesn't turn on. Not only that, but it's not charging the battery at all (so it's not a problem of the LED itself).

There are 3 pins for the battery, two are near one another, and the third is a bit far away from the two.
The tester, when there isn't any battery there, but it's plugged in,  reads 0.30v or something between the near two and nothing between the far one and either of the two.

I've opened it up, and that's where I don't know what to do or check... ehm
What do I check now?

thanks,
Danilo

Offline Toasty

• Regular Contributor
  • Component Level Repair Tech
Re: Leica Battery Charger repair
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2017, 05:09:06 pm »
Pictures please :)

Clear close up photos of circuit board(s) front & back to identify components. 

Which model of charger?  There seems to be several options out there.

T
veritas odium parit

The following users thanked this post: Dan666

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2017, 08:09:32 pm »
Pictures please :)

Clear close up photos of circuit board(s) front & back to identify components. 

Which model of charger?  There seems to be several options out there.

T

The charger model is this Ansmann AE13805, it's the charger that came with the Leica M8.

I'm adding some pictures of the inside, there is some brown solid "stuff" which doesn't appear to be escaped from some components, but I don't have any idea of what it is.