Author Topic: Mazak CNC power supply repair  (Read 5670 times)

Offline HackedFridgeMagnetTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Mazak CNC power supply repair
« on: June 28, 2016, 12:21:11 am »
Hi
I'm a bit out of my depth here, no schematics, no datasheets (Yet).

I posted this on CNC zone but didn't get much response. So I will try here. I have no experience on these machines.

My employer has a Mazak CNC lathe. The other day it stopped working.

On startup the Power supply MDS-A-CV-260 shows and Alarm number 'A' for less than a second which means 'Contactor melt'. Then after that it shows 'n' which means 'Power module overheat'. Though it hasn't time to really heat up. Obviously nothing much happens after this.

The main contactor seems fine and is showing open circuit when it should. So I think the contactor melt is a 'furphy' (slang for misleading statement)

I took it apart and the 3 boards show no signs of damage. (edit see below)

Can anyone suggest any fault finding tests I can do?

Does anyone have a schematic, or can offer any other ideas?

Ideally I would like to be sure the Power supply is at fault before it gets sent away.
 I am in Australia, can anyone suggest a good repair place? Not necessarily in AU.

I had another look and one small electrolytic is fried. I will replace and try. 
I want Datasheets on these proprietory components, if anyone has info.
PM200DKA060
PM100EHS060
Meldas DK495 (sub board)

Any help appreciated.

« Last Edit: June 28, 2016, 06:33:32 am by HackedFridgeMagnet »

• Super Contributor
Re: Mazak CNC power supply repair
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2016, 06:33:01 am »
Some photos of the offending unit.
Sorry about the image quality.

I found a burned out cap C21 from the board with the busbars, which had caused damage to its PCB (shorted ~30v rail) so cut away the offending copper. And put in only matching cap I could find. Lol 'Suntan' brand apparently low Esr  and 105 degrees.

I will put it back together tomorrow and turn it on.