Author Topic: My oscilloscope shows no voltage change (ABB Metrawatt M6001)  (Read 2384 times)

Offline PRAHLTopic starter

Hi! Before I start I would like to state that my knowledge considering oscilloscopes is basically non-existing, but I am very eager to learn so I hope you guys can help me out!

Two days ago I got an old analog oscilloscope from my dad. I have been using oscilloscopes two or three times before in school, no complicated measurements at all, just calculating frequencies and similar stuff. I thought that it would be a great way to increase my electrical knowledge and happily started "playing" around with it.

I started playing around with a 9V DC battery trying to measure the voltage. Instead of getting 9V I got a little over three volts, which made me confused. I tried measuring a 12V DC charger that I plugged in my wall socket (maybe this was idiotic of me to do, considering I'm just playing around and don't really know what I'm doing) from which I also got way too low voltage shown in my scope. With the battery and the charger, both DC, I played around with the scope trying to learn the different settings.

The day after when I plugged in my scope I was unable to get any voltage reading at all. Nothing. My question is, have I accidentally ruined my scope when measuring my 9V battery and my 12V DC charger or have I accidentally adjusted my settings some way? No matter what I do or which settings I change I cannot get a reading of voltage. All I get is a straight line in the window.

After googling I found out how to calibrate my scope using the 2V output pin from the scope itself but my scope won't show any voltage change what so ever when I place the probe on the pin.