Author Topic: "New Guy Here" I have lot's of older, high end compontents if in need.  (Read 2678 times)

Offline SoxfanTopic starter

This is my first post here. I work in a hospital and have access to all of the discarded medical equipment. They regularly use very expensive and hard to find parts. I have about 500 pounds of boards and even unsoldered components that I really don't know how to fully appreciate yet. The lowest end opamp I run into is op07. It became a hobby collecting and safely removing ic's. So as I learn from you folks, maybe I can help out as well. Shoot away if you have a chip or anything you need.

I'm looking to try my hand at a 0-20v or 30v and 0-3 amps power supply build. I'm looking around a lot, but have yet to find a source I can trust to pour my time into. I have the input settled, but the dc regulation part is my focus. I know this is the wrong section, but figured I'd ask if anyone had a good design to share.

Offline coromonadalix

• Super Contributor

Offline Old Printer

• Frequent Contributor
Re: "New Guy Here" I have lot's of older, high end compontents if in need.
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2018, 03:05:03 am »
Unless you really just have to build it, a good CV - CC power supply is a lot to tackle for a beginner. All you have to do is search the threads here to see what many have run into. I haunted ebay for a few months and came away with some 2-3 channel PS at bargain basement prices. The liquidation of the ITT schools dumped a lot of pretty good equipment on the market. I picked up a few BK Precision 1651 triple output PS for no more than $50 shipped. Buying a "for parts only" unit and repairing it will teach you a lot too. No way I could design and build anything close to these.

Offline coromonadalix

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2018, 04:07:09 am »
I have answered this on another thread :

You have some linear DIY pcb with all the parts on Ebay, as low as 5 $ usd ???