Author Topic: Newbie needs a little help with first repair  (Read 2285 times)

Offline injbTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Newbie needs a little help with first repair
« on: November 18, 2018, 01:24:40 am »
Hi, I'm trying to figure out what's wrong with this Kenwood FG-273 function generator I bought on ebay. I got it years ago and I was going to fix it back then, but it got shelved for a while. (https://www.eevblog.com/forum/beginners/is-this-function-generator-broken/new/?topicseen#new)

Anyway, I'm giving it another shot, and hoping to learn something as I go. But I have no experience with this stuff and I could use some help, if someone doesn't mind taking a look. I have a 4 channel scope, and I have the schematic, but I'm struggling to understand how it's supposed to work, and what I should be looking for.

The issue is that the output signal is tiny and badly distorted. Turning up the amplitude knob doesn't increase the amplitude, it just increases the distortion. The first thing I found is that the actual signal generation is working fine. The signal coming in to the amplitude pot is perfect. The problem happens in the final amplifier stage.

Following the advice from my old thread linked above, I've looked at the signals in various places, but it's hard to tell if what I'm seeing is the problem or not. The part that's confusing me right now is that the input signal to the push/pull transistors (Q12 and Q13 in the schematic) is a square wave, regardless of which signal is being generated. For example, I captured the attached waveforms with the sine generator:

* Blue (channel A) is the from R84, just after the amplitude potentiometer, and looks perfect
 * Red (channel B) is the collector of Q10 (approx 30v p-p)
* Green (channel C) is the collector of Q11 (approx 30v p-p)
* Yellow-ish (channel D) is the final output (only a few hundred millivolts, should be 20v p-p)