Author Topic: Old HP 1222A Oscilloscope Repair - Need Help!  (Read 9312 times)

Offline Philipp F.Topic starter

• Contributor
  • Software Engineer doing ee for fun.
Old HP 1222A Oscilloscope Repair - Need Help!
« on: April 29, 2014, 07:59:56 pm »
Hey EEVBlog Forum,

I am a student and electronics hobbyist, i have the most basic knowledge in electronics, but for this I might need some help from you.
A while ago my old HP 1222A Oscilloscope stopped working, i checked the fuse and it was blown, i didn't have the right fuse so i set it aside for a while but now I am making an attempt to repair it.
Before installing a new fuse i took the case off to see if anything was visibly broken, and indeed there was!

A strange looking cap right next to the transformer and the voltage selector spew out all its guts.
In addition to the faulty cap, i messed up when trying to unsolder this thing, i pulled out a contact from the voltage selector switch that was solderd to the cap and a couple of other wires.  :palm:
I am sure I can just bodge repair that on the backside, but i am unsure where to place the jumper.
I attached pictures of everything, also one thing i noticed, it has settings for 100, 120, 220 and 240 volts.
I live in Germany where we have a voltage of 230V, when i got it it was set to 220V i hope this is still in range (maybe that's why the cap blew?).

I hope you can help me place that jumper and finding a replacement cap, i googled the number on it but these kind of caps are unknown to me.  :-//
Also, can I ignore the possibility that something different might be broken or caused the fault and just install a new cap? My best guess is that it's just the age that made it faulty.

Offline krivx

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Old HP 1222A Oscilloscope Repair - Need Help!
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2014, 08:06:36 pm »
Do you have a schematic? If you can't replace the voltage switch you could just remove it and hard-wire the scope for 230V use.

• Contributor