Author Topic: Olympus Pen Lite EPL6 LCD Repair Help  (Read 5408 times)

Offline cgregs32Topic starter

Olympus Pen Lite EPL6 LCD Repair Help
« on: October 17, 2016, 02:05:02 pm »
Alright.. So I cracked the screen on my Olympus Pen Lite.  I figured I could easily buy a LCD online and unscrew a few little screws put the new screen in and have it be back to normal.  Not that easy. I am an electronics newb for sure, I just like to do repairs myself to save money.

So, Luckily I do not have to pull the camera completely apart to get to the LCD.  It folds out and away from the main body of the camera.  I ran into trouble when I started unscrewing the screws and found that the backing plate is glued in place.  I did not want to try to force this out because I figured that would not be a good Idea.

Like I said I have never attempted any small electronics fixes before and I dont know the terminology.  But I am adamant on repairing my camera.  Im asking for help, Is this a difficult job to do? Am I in over my head?  How do I get past this mysterious adhesive? I am slightly invested as I have already bought the LCD screen.  Hoping to get some wisdom from someone who has replaced an LCD before or has dealt with electronics adhesives.  Any responses welcome and I really appreciate your help.  Thank you guys!!

Offline Blastcap

• Regular Contributor
Re: Olympus Pen Lite EPL6 LCD Repair Help
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2016, 03:34:52 pm »
This is a guide to get inside the PL-7, but the LCD assembly should be the same/similar.
https://ifixit.com/Guide/Olympus+Pen+E-PL7+LCD+Screen+Replacement/55390/

If you got the tools, the spare parts and the guts, then go nuts.

« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2016, 12:24:52 pm »