Author Topic: Oscilloscope Screen Dead  (Read 3670 times)

Offline keynaboutradiosTopic starter

• Contributor
Oscilloscope Screen Dead
« on: September 12, 2018, 09:13:27 am »
Thanks for reading my question
So I am learning electronic repairs, and have managed to repair a few items, and now trying to be a smart ass and repair a Hameg HM1005 100MHz oscilloscope for the first time.

I have turned it on and all led's come on but no trace on screen, also I have taken front panel off to clean all switches, I do not have a high voltage probe so I am keeping well clear from that area and the fact that I'm a newbie better safe than sorry!!, but I do know that's for the CRT which could well be the problem!, if I turn lights off in the workshop and turn power switch on and off, I can see a trace that runs from top of screen to bottom briefly then nothing, each time I do it is the same, also I can see the heating element glowing orange in rear of CRT, so I am guessing that the high voltage is there.
Could someone please advice me on possible causes, and any tips.

Manual is http://wsw.ko4bb.com/getsimple/index.php?id=download&file=06_Misc_Test_Equipment/Hameg/Hameg_HM1005_Oscilloscope_Service_Manual.pdf

Many Thanks
Justin
« Last Edit: September 12, 2018, 12:25:39 pm by keynaboutradios »

Online tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Oscilloscope Screen Dead
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2018, 09:25:43 am »
First do us a favor by posting up a link to the Service manual so we can all play along at home.  :)
The LV PSU rails is where to start checking they are all exactly to spec as listed in the service manual; voltages and ripple measurements.

You could also shift this topic to the Repair board using the tab only you the OP can see at the bottom left of this page.
Once in the Repair board check the Repair docs thread and grab the Tek troubleshooting scopes pdf in the first post.