Author Topic: Philips pm 3110 10 mhz oscilloscope  (Read 6682 times)

Offline nucleopolymereTopic starter

• Contributor
Philips pm 3110 10 mhz oscilloscope
« on: December 24, 2014, 07:09:21 pm »
Hi!
I have purchased this oscilloscope for 5 bucks at my school because they were throwing it away.The oscilloscope gives me a precise  reading when i put the probes on the probe adjustment(calibration), so the amplitude and horizontal deflectors are ok.I have an annoying but not major problem. When I turn on my oscilloscope and I put the intensity potentiometer at maximum, the trace is very bright as expected , but the trace is shading off slowly. It takes about 1h30 until the trace completely disappears. I've downloaded the service manual for the scope but I am rather new to electronics and I don't know what the problem could be. I ,after carefully observing the schematics, suppose the problem would come from the power supply of my oscilloscope but I cannot ,due to my little knowledge, determine what component could be defective I would suspect a bad high voltage capacitor .Why?... I don't know, it is just a feeling.

Service manual can be downloaded here ( wait 30 seconds then you can download it) http://elektrotanya.com/philips_pm3110_service_manual.pdf/download.html
The schematics are in the manual at page 85

hope you understood my problem

Thanks for your help  :)

Online tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Philips pm 3110 10 mhz oscilloscope
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2014, 07:56:15 pm »
Welcome to the forum.
We have some Philips experts here that should be able to steer you in the right direction.  ;)
For additional reading get the Tek troubleshooting pdf in the first post on this board.
Normally the first things are to check ALL rails from the PSU are exactly to spec, in your case you need to ensure they are not sagging as they heat up.