Author Topic: PSU advice  (Read 3135 times)

Offline rthorntnTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
PSU advice
« on: August 16, 2018, 06:50:58 am »
Hello you helpful bunch.

I have a dead PSU (try to guess from the image what device it came from?:-DD ) I disassembled it, basically 3 PCB's, a fan and an IEC AC filter thingie

I don't believe there is a circuit diagram for this PSU.

Now its not the beginners section but I'm a beginner and so I'm not going to be plugging this in to mains, in saying that, I do have access to a jaycar variac, rigol oscilloscope and micsig differential probes.

I read somewhere standard SMPS troubleshooting order applies: input, fuse, varistor, rect. bridge, capacitor, switchers, PWM, transformer, then secondary semiconductors, feedback circuit and output filtering, does that make sense, can somebody elaborate on that?

I see two riser PCBs with semiconductors on them.

The only issue I can see is at the red X, a power resistor maybe, the outer casing has come off at the top?

The fuses look OK.

Really just looking for SMPS advice, tips, tricks.

I have heard that the electrolytic capacitors go bad on them, I have 3 of these PSU's, 2 dead (one of them produced the magic smoke), 1 alive.

Thanks for looking.

Richard

« Last Edit: August 16, 2018, 10:29:12 pm by rthorntn »

Offline Zucca

• Supporter
  • EE meid in Itali
Re: PSU advice
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2018, 07:39:44 am »
That's a big beast for a beginner. SPS could not be a begninner job.

Oh you spotted a broken component, that's fine. You could replace it and pray but it's not the common procedure.
You need to measure stuff, take notes and post here information.

For example the fuses just look ok or did you measured them?

What I will do is to power it up with the variac at low voltage AC and try to understand who it works and do some reverse engineering and some DMM/scope.