Author Topic: Quick repair project - Marconi 2024  (Read 46459 times)

Offline chicken

• Frequent Contributor
  • Rusty Coder
Re: Quick repair project - Marconi 2024
« Reply #50 on: October 26, 2017, 11:37:31 pm »
PS: The low voltage on AM Input leads me to a few additional theories (warning, I don't know anything about control loops or RF gear):

• The RF level is the issue and the MCU can't pull AM Input any lower. But I haven't figured out yet, where the MCU would determine the absolute RF level.
  • The low AM Input causes the issue. This could due to
    a) a broken DAC, which I find unlikely as AM modulation works. Though there are multiple DAC outputs involved, maybe one just controls the RF level.
    b) a calibration issue, i.e. the "steady state" output of the DAC should be higher.

« Last Edit: October 26, 2017, 11:40:04 pm by chicken »

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
« Reply #51 on: October 27, 2017, 12:39:20 am »
@chicken, thank you for the detailed reply.  I changed a bunch of TL074C opams today, same result.  My unit PS measures +11V and -11.37V, so I suspect there is some sort of imbalance creating a lot of false.  I removed a 220uF cap after TIP42 (-11V) and the error goes away, output power is set at -2dBm (it used to be -137dBm)... no RF output activity, but no errors.  I will continue playing with the +11V and -11V supplies.

EDIT: I forgot to reconnect the cable from the CPU board to the RF board, that is why it had no RF output activity.  I am now getting a lot of 501 and 502 FRAC/N errors like the original post, but my control board does not have IC207, it has IC14 that is a MAX274BCWI (Active Filters 4th & 8th Order Continuous-Time ).  I am not sure if my board is newer or older than the one from OP.

2nd Update: the 501 / 502 FRAC/N errors go away when calibration 100 is executed.  Quote from Service Manual: