Author Topic: Question - Reballing Is Not Repair?  (Read 24428 times)

Ridah

Question - Reballing Is Not Repair?
« on: January 27, 2016, 08:49:10 pm »
Sorry if this is the improper section for this topic.

I have had a YLOD PS3 sitting in my room for years now awaiting the day I finally either toss it into the bin or do something else with it so I started looking into finding someone who can repair it since I have zero experience in this sort of thing.

Basically the issue seems to be that either the CPU/GPU or some BGA chip has failed or is not working properly and the widely accessible repair is either reball or reflow said chip. I came upon this video where a guy basically says BGA reballing is most of the time a scam and that when it works its usually due the thermal expansion of the chips internals setting up in a way that allows it to operate.

I have heard alot of stupid stuff from what I think is this guys archetype in the firearms hobby. Stuff like "Shake your ammo to keep the powder from caking in on area" stuff that sounds good in theory to an untrained ear but isn't a real thing in reality. What I would really like is to have citations and sources this guy neglected to post, possibly input from someone who knows real engineering info about this stuff.

So is BGA reballing the same chip repair or a tactic of a hucktser?
« Last Edit: January 27, 2016, 08:50:57 pm by Ridah »

Online wraper

• Supporter
Re: Question - Reballing Is Not Repair?
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2016, 09:02:56 pm »
Reballing sometimes can be a true repair, actually I have one LCD TV board which I need to fix where defect is truly because of the soldering fail. But in most cases it's a heating which temporarily revives the chip. And vast majority of reballing guys are scumbags.

Ridah

« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2016, 09:09:26 pm »