Author Topic: Wobbly Scope Screen - Hitachi 1050  (Read 3012 times)

Offline dan3460Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Wobbly Scope Screen - Hitachi 1050
« on: September 22, 2015, 07:55:16 pm »
I'm a newbie to this forum, but I collect antique radios and I have been messing with electronics since a kid 50 years ago. Looking for some help on try to find this problem. A little history of the scope. Got it from ebay for $30 including the shipping. The high 56V winding of the transformer was open. I left that transformer to supply all the other voltages and bought a 56V transformer that I put on this thing. I have tested all the voltages out of the power board and they are pretty close and well within the specs from the manual.
I have followed to schematics and scoped almost every point where they show a waveform and all are very close, within 4% of what is shown. When the input selector is set to GND and time/div set to 1ms the line wobbles up and down, it doesn't change with the volts/div knob. It is the same for both channels. It is the same with ADD setting too. As I said, I checked voltages and waveforms for both input amps, the channel selector and the vertical controller board. All seem fine.
I have the suspicion that it could be power supply related, does anyone have other ideas before I go and start changing all the caps?

Offline KJDS

• Super Contributor
    • my website holding page
Re: Wobbly Scope Screen - Hitachi 1050
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2015, 08:23:57 pm »
I read the title and thought, "Ah! I've seen that before, when the scope has been too close to a transformer from another piece of equipment." I then read your description and found you'd added another transformer. I suspect it's direct coupling into the deflection coils.

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2015, 08:30:44 pm »