Author Topic: Rohde & Schwarz ZVC VNA display/boot issues  (Read 2238 times)

Offline NavyBOFHTopic starter

• Contributor
Rohde & Schwarz ZVC VNA display/boot issues
« on: January 13, 2017, 07:48:30 pm »
Hello all,

I work as a Field Engineer for a public broadcast company that also does a LOT with microwave, ham radio, and NOAA type equipment and projects. Part of that joy is we are able to receive decommissioned test equipment by the pallet-load (with usually myself being the mule to pick it all up). One diamond in the rough was this Rohde and Schwarz ZVC VNA, which looks pretty intact minus the military rejection sticker, small dent in the case, and the handles/rails missing (looks like it was rack mounted at some point).

Powered it on and saw a white LCD screen and got the typical POST "beep" from the system... nothing else. So there's my first issue - display rendering.

Attached an external monitor to the VGA port and tried again. Now I get to see the R&S splash screen and POST status... that's progress! Until it gets to the part where it says Booting... with the "pinwheel" next to it moving but never actually booting. So now I am at the second issue... bad drive? Bad firmware? Totally lost at this point.

I have some experience repairing test equipment but without a Service Manual I am definitely lost. Past that most equipment I work on is HP equipment of an older era (8562A/C/E analyzers or 8920A/B monitors) which are relatively simple since I don't have to worry about there being essentially a single-board computer running the show.

Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated! I also hope to continue sifting through the HP equipment we have (that I mentioned above) to hopefully start offering repaired equipment or even parts for those looking for them!

Offline cncjerry

• Supporter
Re: Rohde & Schwarz ZVC VNA display/boot issues
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2017, 04:19:02 am »