Author Topic: Samsung Syncmaster 2233rz  (Read 6011 times)

Offline P5kTopic starter

Samsung Syncmaster 2233rz
« on: March 01, 2015, 01:47:28 am »
Hello everyone.

I'm new to both the forum and electronics, so I could definitely use some help on this one. I've got my hands on a broken Samsung Syncmaster 2233rz 3D monitor, which seems to be having intermittent power issues. You press the power button and it turns on, briefly displays a video signal, then goes black, whereas an LED at the bottom of the screen remains on, so obviously some part of the power supply is still working.

To be honest, this project is very much over my head. I literally only got into electronics a few weeks ago, and this is daunting. Case in point: in my haste to diagnose the monitor, I managed to short out part of the power supply (I know, I'm an idiot  :palm: please don't laugh at me). So now I have a second problem to diagnose (although the burnt PCB probably will make that a little easier). Think anyone could give me a hand on how to get started? I am in deep here. Just some recommendations on how not to kill myself through stupidity would probably help...

Pictures below might give you an idea of what I'm dealing with.

Offline xrunner

• Super Contributor
  • hp>Agilent>Keysight>???
Re: Samsung Syncmaster 2233rz
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2015, 02:13:17 am »
Quick and dirty - unplug it from the wall and re-seat all of the connectors you can find inside. I've fixed a plasma TV once just by doing that.  :-+
I told my friends I could teach them to be funny, but they all just laughed at me.

Offline P5kTopic starter

« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2015, 02:17:45 am »
Yeah, the capacitors were the first things I looked at - nothing obvious. They all seemed to be in working order from a visual standpoint.

Offline P5kTopic starter

« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2015, 03:02:54 am »