Author Topic: Sony CDP-30 gear replacement; not spinning; looking for repairer  (Read 2089 times)

Offline jeremybh1Topic starter

• Contributor
Hi Everyone
A recent eBay pickup of the Sony CDP-30 shows a plastic gear has deteriorated which prevents, I think in part, the tray from opening.  Unfortunately for complete newbies like myself, the Service Manual does not list non-electrical parts, nor do diagrams mention what this gear is. 

How would you go about finding a replacement?

Attached to this post is a quick photo.

Update: Now looking for repairer, see latest post for videos (<2 min each). Located Canberra, Australia.  Would be happy to work with someone also but I have limited skill here.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2018, 10:51:38 am by jeremybh1 »

Offline Bashstreet

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Sony CDP-30 gear replacement
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2018, 05:22:38 pm »
Looks like standard gear.
Measure the gear Ebay and audio stores often have suitable replacements.

I can look for one but i need the dimensions.

Offline jeremybh1Topic starter

• Contributor
Re: Sony CDP-30 gear replacement
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2018, 10:50:21 am »
Hi Everyone
The more I play the more I learn.  I've moved past simply needing to replace a gear as I conclude there is a logic issue at hand preventing playback.  It could very well be a simple micro switch.  I take back what I said regarding the service manual not including non-electrical part numbers, I just needed a magnifying glass to find it!  A search on Google revels a dentist's phone number only - no equivalent part for the gear. 

Removing the gear was like touching crumbly cheese that further disintegrated, seemingly just by looking at it haha.  I remove a total of two gears.

I filmed where I was up to as I have ran out of ideas which is here (2 min): https://youtu.be/RWe_XuVNZTk