Author Topic: Strange issue: Power/Regulators OK, but poor power to ICs  (Read 2555 times)

Offline synth-dudeTopic starter

• Contributor
Strange issue: Power/Regulators OK, but poor power to ICs
« on: February 06, 2016, 03:21:08 am »
Hi,

I'm trying to revive an old musical keyboard, its been sitting in the shed for about 15 years now.

When I power it up the lights come on but no sound.  I investigated its got an op amp front end, probing that IC shows it has no power.  So next I checked the regulators, its has 2 7805 regulators and a LM337 for a -6.5v rail, these all check out OK, voltage is good.  Next I checked the main CPU, a Z80A, and its datasheet says it should be 5v at Vcc, but in the circuits its getting about 1.45v.

So basically the power supply and regulators appear to producing the correct voltages, but once distributed across the board the voltages either reduce greatly or go to zero.

I'm not an expert in repairing things so thought I'd ask if there were any common ways this can happen with old circuit boards?  Its a double layer board, but not multi layer.

I'll continue tracing things across the board and maybe something will pop up.

Thanks

Offline Ian.M

• Super Contributor
Re: Strange issue: Power/Regulators OK, but poor power to ICs
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2016, 03:42:51 am »
Corroded vias linking top and bottom tracks, and/or dry joints.   

Offline Cloud

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2016, 06:10:44 am »
Connect one probe of multimeter to the output of the voltage regulator and with other follow the track. When resistance will increase significantly you could insulate area with the problem  :)

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2016, 09:05:30 am »