Author Topic: TEAC BX-330 amplifier repair  (Read 3300 times)

Offline AshhhhhTopic starter

• Contributor
TEAC BX-330 amplifier repair
« on: August 04, 2018, 03:26:25 am »
Hey all,

Hoping for a bit of assistance with repair of this amplifier. I'm a rank amateur with no formal training but still enjoy repairing these things.
My lack of knowledge stings me sometimes though and I'm unable to find the fault, this is one of those occasions.

This had a number of problems and a number of blown components, I won't go into all the detail (unless needed) but I'm now able to correctly adjust the midpoint voltage, the idle/bias (whereas originally there was no power due to some blown diodes and a dual FET 2sk item) BUT there is no sound, on any input.
The voltage at various points is a little low when compared to the schematic too. For example 34v where it should be more like 38.

I've tested various components and scratched my head for ages, just can't crack it.

Any advice appreciated, I've got access to a scope, signal generator etc.
I'll attach the manual too.

Cheers,
Ash
http://cloud.tapatalk.com/s/5b651c5b010b3/hfe_teac_bx-330_550_service_en.pdf

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

Offline bitseeker

• Super Contributor
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: TEAC BX-330 amplifier repair
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2018, 04:33:00 am »
If power supply voltages are far from where they should be, resolve that first. Then, if the lack of audio persists, put a signal on one of the inputs and follow it to see where it's interrupted. Since you indicated that none of the inputs makes any difference, choose the input with the least complicated path to follow and/or probe.
TEA is the way. | TEA Time channel

Offline cncjerry

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2018, 05:36:46 pm »