Author Topic: Technic SU-X501 amp repair help needed  (Read 3290 times)

Offline motorhomerTopic starter

• Contributor
Technic SU-X501 amp repair help needed
« on: November 17, 2017, 11:07:10 am »
I have a Technics SU-X501 amp which I got to learn electronic fault finding. This is my first project fault finding on amps. I have done electronics with Arduinos and I have built small amps and valve amps so have some knowledge of electronics but never gone into service repair which is where I would like to go.
I would like some help with the current amp I have as the fault on it seems to be more difficult to find than I intended to start with. Initially the amp was reported to not start up. I found four PCB tracks cut on the front panel which supplied the LCD and the 6.1V / GND to the Microcomputer. I have bridged these out and now it powers up with display.
There was a power issue the relay would click on/off and the negative -15 voltages across the board would fluctuate. I have re-soldered the regulator transistors in as they looked like dry joints and now the supplies seem all ok.
The issue I have now is with the selector chip TC9164N. initially when putting a signal through the amp there was no control over the selection of the input. A signal on CD would play no matter what was selected on the control panel. So, I changed the selector input chip but I still have the same issue.
The supply voltage to the chip is correct 14.8v on pin 28 and -14.8v on pin 1. If I put a 1000 Hz signal through the CD input I get this signal on the inputs to the chip at pins 8 and 21. I then get the signal on pin 9 output for right channel no matter what is selected on the front panel but nothing out on pin 20 for left channel no matter what is selected. I have checked the DATA signal and seem to get some data through when selecting an input on the front panel but the CK signal seems to not do anything, not sure what I should be getting on this pin or what I should be getting on ST pin.