Author Topic: Tek 2465B Repair Help Please  (Read 6444 times)

Offline DC912Topic starter

• Contributor
Tek 2465B Repair Help Please
« on: April 22, 2015, 04:11:07 pm »
My 2465B purchased about 2 months ago was working fine.  The serial number is above 51000

After reading all of the posts about the 4 electrolytic caps on the A5 board eventually leaking and damaging the board, I decided to replace them.  That was may first mistake (fixing something that wasn't broken).

I am a hobbyist, having worked on tube radios, tube communications receivers and tube amps for many years. Everything I have done in the past is point to point, and through hole.  I am still kicking myself, but somehow I convinced myself that the bar on the smd tantalums indicated the negative side because the electrolytics I use in tube gear typically have the negative indicated on the cap.  That was my second mistake (not reading the data sheet). So, I reversed polarity on all four of the replacement caps when I installed them, and when I powered up the scope, there was a "pop" and I realized pretty quickly what I did wrong.  |O

Cap C2965 shorted.  Caps C2011, C2331 and C2113 did not short.  I have now replaced all four of those Caps with new Caps, and C2890 looked like it burned so I replaced that cap too.  After replacing the caps, on power up, the fan runs, cycling on and off a bit, and all LEDS on the front panel light.  Pressing the A/B trigger doesn't affect the LEDS--they all stay on continuously.  There is no trace, but the scale lights work.  None of the diagnostics show on the screen.

I am going to check the low voltage test points, but if anyone can direct me to likely faults or other things to test based upon having reversed polarity on those 4 caps, and the symptoms described above, I would greatly appreciate it.  The last thing I need is another electronic doorstop.

Thanks.

Offline mskobier

• Regular Contributor
  • Test Equipmentaholic!
Re: Tek 2465B Repair Help Please