Author Topic: Tektronix 465 w/ DM44 subject to whims.  (Read 6332 times)

Offline MalefodaTopic starter

• Contributor
Tektronix 465 w/ DM44 subject to whims.
« on: September 04, 2017, 08:55:36 pm »
Hello,
I'm new to this board and have been advised to come here by the DIYAudio fellows about my Tek scope. I'm also happy to watch these videos of Dave ;)
I'm no engineer but can learn :box: , years ago I had no idea what a resistors was and here I am making simple circuits and using a scope and signal generator =)

The 465 has been given free to me with the "stopped working" note. First I've put the main selector to 230V, then powered on. All lights on but no trace at all.
Tried it some more times and one day, all of a sudden, it worked!
I've used it a couple of days, even powered it just to let it warm sometimes. Once power off made a bright flash on screen, almost painfull to see and also like a static discharge noise on startup. But tonight here it goes again, no trace at all. Seems the fan is on a very slow speed also.

Several threads, the service manual but it looks too big for me... What about a first control by sight with case removed  :-/O , maybe pictures? Or some of you with already some ideas?
And I wonder why I don't have the lovely knob on the delay pot...

Thanks!
Matthieu
« Last Edit: September 04, 2017, 09:08:53 pm by Malefoda »

Online tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Tektronix 465 w/ DM44 subject to whims.
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2017, 10:05:41 pm »
Welcome to the forum.

Link the SM so we can all be on the same page as you are.
Grab this Tek doc too, it gives good basic guidance:
http://www.sphere.bc.ca/test/tek-parts/troubleshooting-scopes.pdf