Author Topic: Tektronix 475 Oscilloscope channel 2 repair  (Read 5132 times)

Offline silverlego3Topic starter

• Contributor
Tektronix 475 Oscilloscope channel 2 repair
« on: February 17, 2015, 10:41:28 pm »
Hello!
So I got my first oscilloscope, a nice Tektronix 475 from my father. The only thing wrong with it, is someone banged the channel 2 knob really well so it broke the plastic and bent the rod that turns the cam inside.

I have been folowing EEVblog for quite a few years on youtube and figured people might be interested at taking a look inside this old scope as I try and repair channel 2, and hopefully make it easier for someone else with the same scope to repair. I didnt get too many pictures of me taking it apart but I'll take more as I put it back together.

for now here is a picture of the bottom of the scope.
"Work Smarter, not harder"

"Its hard to soar like a eagle when your flying with turkeys"

Offline Redcat

• Regular Contributor
  • Ask why not, not why.
    • redcatimaging
Re: Tektronix 475 Oscilloscope channel 2 repair
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2015, 07:22:57 pm »
Hello Silverlego,
the Tek 475 is for sure a nice old scope :). I havn't used mine for a while but i once changed some lightbulbs to LEDs and tweaked the calibration testsignal a bit...
Would be nice to see you trying to repair yours. Depending on what rod is broken or bent, it shouldn't be that hard  ;), u can use Channel 1 as a reference...
The 475 is well documented and you can easily get a repair manual.
Good luck & have fun in repairing and using this scope, I'm looking forward for your repair updates  :).
Voltcraft 630-2,Tek 2215A,Tek 475,really handy DIY microcontroller component tester (R/C/D/Q...), ZD-915, ZD-931,Voltcraft 1062D - of course hacked :)

Offline tombi

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2015, 06:07:14 am »
I too spent a good bit of time fixing a very broken 475. I thoroughly enjoyed it and learned a lot!