Author Topic: Tektronix 475 oscilloscope - help needed  (Read 3383 times)

Offline F3nn3cTopic starter

Tektronix 475 oscilloscope - help needed
« on: May 20, 2018, 05:26:06 pm »
Hello, everyone:

I have acquired a Tektronix 475 scope (Option 4, with DM43), advertised as "working".

Good news - it does display a base trace, and does trigger (sort of) off of the internal calibrator.

The bad news - everything else. Here is what I am experiencing:

- The trace, when displayed, is extremely jittery, and floats up, down, left, right, or even running left to right
- A slightest touch of ANY control results in triggering being lost, and trace disappearing in a random location. Takes some bumping on the case and A trigger level control rotation to bring the traces back... For a bit.
- No matter what I do, the trace is rather thick, even when "in focus"
- DMM displays garbage numbers, and zeroing works only one time out of 50, if that

Since I am very new to this, what would be the proper troubleshooting/repair sequence? DeoxIT controls and switches? Reseat transistors and ICs? Check the voltages per Service manual afterwards? I hope some of you have seen these symptoms before, so maybe it is something more basic?

Any advice of where to start would be greatly appreciated.

Dmitri

Offline particleman

• Regular Contributor
Re: Tektronix 475 oscilloscope - help needed
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2018, 05:49:13 pm »
Push switches can be deoxited. Cam switches are gold fingers that have to be cleaned with IPA and clay free paper. Re-seating transistors and socketed stuff can never hurt and you may find other "things"  while you are doing that. Voltages are the first place to start. Get the manual. Did you also adjust astigmatism for the thick trace issue?
« Last Edit: May 20, 2018, 05:52:08 pm by particleman »

Online tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2018, 08:14:22 pm »