Author Topic: Tektronix 7313 Oscilloscope - Is it worth saving?  (Read 3535 times)

Offline VannystickTopic starter

Tektronix 7313 Oscilloscope - Is it worth saving?
« on: May 17, 2017, 08:51:04 pm »
Evening All, This is my first post so I'll try to make it a goodun.

I stopped by an old friends place on Monday to discover he was using a Tektronix 7313 Oscilloscope as a door stop for his shed, and at the time is was under the over flow for the drain off the roof. I whipped out the modules and they looked good so a bit of haggling and I brought it home.

So I've cleaned the casings and pulled it apart. The three modules don't look too bad but as I've pulled the boards out of the main chassis, its not looking great. This is a board above the transformer which has the main power capacitors on;

It really doesn't look too clever!

There are many more picture in this album;

http://s297.photobucket.com/user/vannystick/library/TEK%207313

I'm an automotive engineer by trade, so electronics are not distant to me, but i'm wondering if this is a step too far.

So, for the more experienced in these matters, is it salvageable, and is it worth the effort?

Online tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Tektronix 7313 Oscilloscope - Is it worth saving?
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2017, 09:14:24 pm »
Welcome to the forum.

I don't hold ANY hope of a successful repair for you, sorry.
Even with considerable experience IMO she looks a gonna.  :--

Very sad that such a good instrument be not stored away for the chance that someone might come along with the skills to take on the repair before it was abused in such a way.
3 choices, take it back, put it on eBay as a parts unit or use it yourself as a donor unit for a similar model you acquire.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos

Offline GreyWoolfe

• Supporter
  • NW0LF