Author Topic: Tektronix DM5010 DMM with GPIB  (Read 3934 times)

Offline FlyingHackerTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • You're Doing it Wrong
Tektronix DM5010 DMM with GPIB
« on: July 30, 2016, 10:18:58 pm »
Hi,

I have a Tek DM5010 -- info here:

http://www.barrytech.com/tektronix/tektm500/tekdm5010.html
http://w140.com/tekwiki/wiki/DM5010

Manual here:

http://www.ko4bb.com/manuals/71.91.230.162/Tek_DM5010_Digital_Multimeter.pdf

The CMOS is backed up by a NiCd battery. This battery has died and leaked a tiny amount of salts. I got that fairly clean (any tricks to that? I just used IPA).

I am wondering if I could replace that battery with a supercapacitor. I have never worked with supercaps before. I was thinking something like this:

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Bussmann-Eaton/KR-5R5C105-R/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMuDCPMZUZ%252bYlyTGVaxltdWl5cuqcUD%252by%252bU%3d

Here is the section of the schematic where the battery resides (attached image). Do you think the 100Ohm resistor would be OK?

Thoughts? I already have a cordless phone NiCd battery on the way, and this could work, but it is bigger, and will eventually leak again.

• Frequent Contributor
  • You're Doing it Wrong
Re: Tektronix DM5010 DMM with GPIB
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2016, 10:35:14 pm »
I also wonder how long a CR2032 lithium cell might last if I just disconnected the power input at CR1133 and used only the battery.

Offline David Hess

• Super Contributor
  • DavidH
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2016, 02:41:16 am »
The CMOS is backed up by a NiCd battery. This battery has died and leaked a tiny amount of salts. I got that fairly clean (any tricks to that? I just used IPA).

IPA will work fine.  What matters is the water since the potassium hydroxide and its salts are water soluble.  Scrub the area down with some water with a little bit of dish soap and then rinse in distilled water.

I am wondering if I could replace that battery with a supercapacitor. I have never worked with supercaps before.