Author Topic: Tektronix TDS644A failed NVSRAM Backup  (Read 2225 times)

Offline toby_mucTopic starter

Tektronix TDS644A failed NVSRAM Backup
« on: January 20, 2018, 03:27:30 pm »
Hi everyone,

as this is my first post on the forum let me quickly introduce myself! My name is Toby, I am from Munich in Germany and although I studied electrical engineering back in the day I do electronics only as a hobby. I stumbled across EEVBlog on Youtube a few months ago and really enjoy watching the videos and reading through the forum. I even started to build a power supply for the first time ;D

But I have one problem I really could need help with:

A couple of years back I got hold of a Tektronix TDS644A DSO which is (at least it was until I screwed things up) in good working order. After opening it up I found the backery-backed NVSRAM and decided to do a backup as recommended somwhere on this forum, as it certainly had reached it's shelf life some 15 years ago. I unsoldered the DS1650Y, copied it's contents and put it back into the scope. Should have been an easy task, but now the scope shows two errors right after start-up:

- FAIL ++ Processor
- FAIL ++ Cal initialization (see error log)

After clearing this messages the scope does work, but shows quite a large voltage offset, about 50mV on the 100mV range with different offsets on the different range settings.

No comes the funny part: I can't get into the error log, because to get there, I have to move the selection in the Utility menu accros "Cal". And there I get a lot of "bing" sounds and the attached error message. The signal path compensation, which might solve my problem, is also hidden behind this error message, so I can't do that either.

Does anyone of you have an idea what went wrong?

Thanks for your help!

Regards,
 Toby.

Online andy2000

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Tektronix TDS644A failed NVSRAM Backup
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2018, 05:30:19 pm »