Author Topic: TORO 5000 electric fence transformer repair (help needed)  (Read 2331 times)

Offline BilpeTopic starter

TORO 5000 electric fence transformer repair (help needed)
« on: August 05, 2017, 11:53:09 am »
Greetings!

A little background; A friend gave me a non-functional electric fence transformer, hoping i could take a look at it. The fault might have occurred during a recent lightning storm, but it could just have given up on its own (it was made in Sweden during the early 90's.). The symptoms of the fault are simply not turning on. there is a neon indicator attached over its capacitors that doesn't turn on.
I'm a real novice on electronics repair, and hoping someone could recommend what steps to do next.

There was a thermal fuse attached to a large resistor that had triggered, but bridging it does not seem to restore function.
I took a picture with my phones thermal camera, showing that there is a TO-220 package that gets hot (apart from the resistor with the fuse).
I think its a thyristor, marked S2014NH(http://www.semicon-data.com/scr/thy/s0/S2014NH.html) & TAG8534 (The 16-pin package close to it is marked HEF4060B).

My plan would be to change the overheating thyristor, but i cant seem to find that model anywhere (perhaps i'm not looking at the right place?).
The transformer itself seems to be in good shape (i'm getting continuity between input-input & output-output, but no connection between inputs-outputs)

Any help on how to proceed would be greatly appreciated!

Best regards, Billy

Offline Armadillo

• Super Contributor
Re: TORO 5000 electric fence transformer repair (help needed)
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2017, 02:35:38 pm »
Is the IC 4060 oscillating?

1.0 Measure Pin 16 and Pin 8, What is the DC voltage?

2.0 Use a logic probe, is Pin 7 any pulses?

3.0 Check if thyristor is short-circuited between Anode and Cathode.?

Offline BilpeTopic starter

« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2017, 04:22:04 pm »
Thanks for your answer!