Author Topic: Affordable SMD Hot tweezers?  (Read 7971 times)

Offline djosTopic starter

• Supporter
Affordable SMD Hot tweezers?
« on: July 10, 2017, 06:28:22 am »
G'day chaps, I had a pair of really cheap ($40 AUD) SMD Hot tweezers which lasted all of 2 LCIII restorations before one half stopped heating up as well as the other (not surprising really). On the plus side I learnt the value of hot tweezers for quickly and easily removing SMD caps etc when doing old computer restorations.

As the Crap ones are now useless, I need to buy another set - can folks please recommend an affordable set of SMD Hot tweezers? Ideally I'd like a set that has changeable tips so I can fit wider tips for SMD DIPP packages etc if I need them.

I'm just a hobbyist so my gear (in total) only gets used for an hour or two per weekend, hot tweezers even less.

Offline mikeselectricstuff

• Super Contributor
    • Mike's Electric Stuff
Re: Affordable SMD Hot tweezers?
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2017, 08:01:55 am »
I've never found tweezers to be that useful - two soldering irons are a lot more flexible as you can move each independently.

Youtube channel:Taking wierd stuff apart. Very apart.
Mike's Electric Stuff: High voltage, vintage electronics etc.
Day Job: Mostly LEDs

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2017, 08:14:59 am »
I've never found tweezers to be that useful - two soldering irons are a lot more flexible as you can move each independently.

That's definitely an option, however when space is really tight (e.g. Densely populated Computer main boards) the hot tweezers really come into their own.

Offline nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2017, 11:18:15 pm »
I'm quite content with my Ersa chiptool but it is not exactly cheap. I have used it to rework a couple of hundred boards and it worked really well.
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/reviews/ersa-chiptool-quick-review/

I used to own a Auyuoe SMT tweezers but the tips where total crap.