Author Topic: China CNC 6040 - Setup, Testing & Review  (Read 178229 times)

Offline PeterG

• Frequent Contributor
Re: China CNC 6040 - Setup, Testing & Review
« Reply #50 on: April 09, 2012, 12:30:05 am »

I might make a series of videos eventually as there isn't all that much material available for complete beginners. Most websites assume you have a background in machining, milling or woodworking.

I would really like to see a series or videos aimed at the total beginner. Even a Beginners Guide to the 6040 usage would be great.

Regards
Testing one two three...

Offline metalphreakTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • http://d.av.id.au
    • D.av.id.AU
« Reply #51 on: April 18, 2012, 03:39:16 pm »
Looking at getting a proper video camera this weekend :)

Had a go at making a small project box tonight using some smoke grey acrylic sheet. I used Trammell Hudson's boxer script to generate the sides with tabs. This outputs an SVG file which can't be imported into Cambam directly. Easiest solution is to load it up in Inkscape, then export it as a DXF file. CamBam was used to generate the toolpath and GCode. CamBam also has an option to "dogbone" corners so you get a square corner. With the 1mm cutting bit I used, you can barely even notice it :)

I need to get some acrylic glue to hold it all together. I have an idea to use 4 bolts through the front panel, with threads tapped into the back panel. Then I can glue everything except the back, and still have access to the inside. Hard to explain in words, but basically the bolt "pulls" the back panel on through the front panel. The other option is the bolt and nut approach: http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-Make-Anything-Using-Acrylic-and-Machine-Sc/ A combination of glued tabs for the main part, and the nut/bolt for access panels is a good compromise.

This box was just to test it out and see how well it works, but its the perfect size for a 2x16 character LCD  8)

• Frequent Contributor
    • D.av.id.AU