Author Topic: Dremel 4000 and Dremel Workstation 220 breaking all my drill bits  (Read 18563 times)

Offline akisTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
I have been using the Dremel 4000 and Workstation for around 2 years. I have been using it with ordinary drill bits.

The problem is that these bits go blunt very quickly and require excessive force to drill through.

Recently I bought a range of CNC drill bits which all have the same stem 3.2mm diameter with various drill sizes. These cut very well, do not go blunt, they go on like forever.

However recently those CNC drill bits have started to snap, today I snapped around a dozen! I had to revert to using the old style drill bits.

I am wondering what the problem might be.

I am guessing:

1) the collet has defirmed and allows the bit to wobble.
2) the Dremel 4000 itself has got unbalanced and wobbles.
3) the Workstation does not plunge down truly vertically and goes in at an angle thus snapping the bits

Considering that after I snapped around 6 CNC drill bits on as many holes, and then reverted to using the old style (thin) drill bits, and did not snap any, would the problem be on the collet?

Offline DmitryL

• Regular Contributor
Re: Dremel 4000 and Dremel Workstation 220 breaking all my drill bits
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2015, 07:55:53 pm »
Dremel Workstation is a plastic wobbling garbage.
I bought a proxxon drill and stand (slightly more expensive than dremel) and have no problems at all with 0.5mm tungsten carbide drills.

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2015, 08:13:42 pm »
I'd definately strip the collet and clean it in case grud has got up there and is responsible for non concentricity. The Dremels are made to a price and I'd also check the arbor bearing for play, invert the Dremel and float a little thin lubricant into that bearing. Something like Inox or sewing machine oil.