Author Topic: Dremel accessory for routing PCBs?  (Read 13596 times)

Offline MrSlackTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Dremel accessory for routing PCBs?
« on: May 31, 2016, 03:25:23 pm »
I've been using FR4 and an X-Acto for cutting PCBs for about 6 months now I am doing one off SMD stuff. It's getting laborious manually slicing and peeling copper now, so Dremel time! I'm not doing proper PCBs for this stuff or dealing with etching - it's usually one shots.

Can anyone suggest an accessory tip that will actually groove FR4 easily freehand?

Online DimitriP

• Super Contributor
  • "Best practices" are best not practiced.© Dimitri
Re: Dremel accessory for routing PCBs?
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2016, 06:54:30 pm »
I've used this, but you have to have an "engraver's hand" if you are going to do  a whole board.
I don't :)

http://www.amazon.com/Dremel-107-Engraving-Cutter-Shank/dp/B00008Z9ZV

If three 100  Ohm resistors are connected in parallel, and in series with a 200 Ohm resistor, how many resistors do you have? 

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2016, 07:58:12 pm »
Thanks will try one of them.

Offline rob77

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2016, 08:19:23 pm »
"V" shaped or spear shaped bits are the best for cutting isolation routing in FR4. not sure if dremel makes them but proxxon does them in various sizes (0.8mm smallest dia but you can use the very tip of the V shaped bit only to make really narrow isolation grooves) they make them with a 2.35mm shank. other option is a small diamod ball engraver bit, i use them both.

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2016, 08:25:07 pm »
Was looking at an engraver bit for the large traces and a milling bit held at an angle for narrower ones. Will see how it goes. Have just ordered 5 different bits.

My wife doesn't know I'm going to steal her Dremel yet :)

Offline KL27x

• Super Contributor
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2016, 02:10:32 am »