Author Topic: Fake Hakko Solder Tips  (Read 12245 times)

Offline FatTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Fake Hakko Solder Tips
« on: March 29, 2015, 06:10:10 am »
I have been using a Chinese copy of the Hakko 937 for a few years now.  It has worked well for me and I have been happy with it.  I recently purchased a real Hakko FX-888D.  It has been a great iron.  Much easier to solder with and I haven't overrun it's capabilities like I did with the copy of the 937. I'm very happy with it.

While cleaning out my collection of tips I notice I had quite a few non-Hakko tips.  Some aoyue, a few Plato and some that said "Hakko Made in Japan" on the side.  They didn't come in anything that even resembled the proper Hakko packaging, most just came in a small plastic bag.

As I sort through them to determine what to keep, I found a "Hakko" tip that was not that old or well used.  I tried to clean it up a bit and retin it, but it kept oxidizing in spots.  My best guess is this one is a fake.  The ones I bought with the iron, clean and then tin right up.  So I chucked it.  Live and learn, the cheap stuff isn't really that cheap when you factor in solderability and useful life.

Has anyone used Plato tips on a genuine Hakko?  I know very little about them.  Are they keepers (both are still new) or junkers?

Thanks,
Fat

Offline Shock

• Super Contributor
Re: Fake Hakko Solder Tips
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2015, 10:10:58 am »
Never used them, however elsewhere on the net they are reported to work fine. If you look around you can get the genuine Hakko tips for around $5 so unless your chewing through the tips there is not much reason to buy the other couple of brands. Won't hurt to keep those tips as spares.

I don't live in the land of cheap Hakko, so I have Hakko tips on clone stations. Most peoples skill lags behind their eagerness to criticize.
Soldering/Rework: Pace ADS200, Pace MBT350
Multimeters: Fluke 189, 87V, 117, 112   >>> WANTED STUFF <<<