Author Topic: Flir PM675 viewfinder fault.  (Read 1795 times)

Offline fugroTopic starter

Flir PM675 viewfinder fault.
« on: July 22, 2015, 11:44:52 am »
I have a PM675 with a dead EVF, raster only and some noise.  I have been following the expert advice from your member "Aurora" and would appreciate some help from him on this. I have done all the obvious checks on the EVF board, the ribbon cable from it to the CPU board, etc., and all seems OK, but there is no data on any of the connector pins. I am beginning to suspect board faults on either the CPU or A-D boards but I am not an expert on FPGA's , but can follow a circuit diagram and have a lot of other electronic experience.
Any advice would be appreciated .

Online Fraser

• Super Contributor
Re: Flir PM675 viewfinder fault.
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2015, 10:18:26 pm »
Do you have a picture coming out of the composite video output 7 pin LEMO connector that sits adjacent to the 10 pin LEMO power and I/O connector ?

The video connector pinout is provided in the user manual.

If you can switch the camera on (Green LED on) with its power soft button, but cannot switch it off by holding it in, the MC68340 micro is locked up.

These cameras can be challenging in that they are using several 'program on boot' FPGA's and without inside knowledge of the firmware they are bit of a black box. I reverse engineered the circuitry around the FPGA's  which does help with diagnostics. The video generator on the 675/695 is an FPGA rather than the dedicated video processor fitted in the earlier versions of the camera. The video to the EVF and 7 pin connector is analogue.