Author Topic: Found the proper heating element for a generic 852D+ youde852DV4+ soldering iron  (Read 3729 times)

Offline lmesterTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • My page
I'm posting this to help save some pain for anyone else that has one of these rework stations and needs a new soldering iron heating element or soldering iron handle.

This is a generic 852D+. PC board marking shows it as youde852DV4+.

I've been using it for several years without problems. On my to-do list was to buy another soldering iron handle for it.  I usually use a chisel tip. Sometimes I need a small conical tip. Waiting for it to cool off or putting on gloves and playing hot potato while changing the tip is an inconvenience. Two handles ready to use would be nice.

I ordered a complete replacement handle. It looks identical to the original and has the same 907 number on the handle. I plugged it in and turned on the power. I got  S-E indicated on the LED temp display and no heat. A quick resistance check told me that S-E is temp sensor error. The sensor was open. I found that the sensor was not open. It was not even there! This handle had a heating element with only two wires and no temp sensor. It looks like some versions of this soldering station have no actual temp feedback. I'm assuming that this handle with no sensor must work with one of the 852D type soldering stations.

I then ordered another handle from a different seller. This one didn't give the S-E error. The temperature display was showing 0 deg and the tip temp way off. Another fail. The resistance of  the temp sensor in this handle was about 10 ohms. The original handle is about 50 ohms.

I complained to both sellers about the fact that these handles didn't work and got a refund.

So, I now have two free but non functional handles.

The first handle is useless. It only has a 4 conductor cable. I'd need to replace the cable with one that has 5 conductors to use it with the 4 wire heating element.