Author Topic: HAKKO FX-600  (Read 13135 times)

Offline steve0hhTopic starter

HAKKO FX-600
« on: August 05, 2015, 05:45:29 am »
Hi guys,

First post here. haha..

Would like to know what you guys think of the hakko fx 600 as compared to the hakko fx-888D.
This is due to the fact that fx-888d costs about $144USD from where I stay and I do not have a lot of money as I am still studying.
I am just starting out in electronics and looking to buy a decent soldering iron but it's so expensive.
URL - https://www.hakko.com/english/products/hakko_fx600.html

Thanks in advance!

Offline Psi

• Super Contributor
Re: HAKKO FX-600
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2015, 06:16:51 am »
It's not bad apparently, I don't have one but have heard its good for what it is.

Another option is a cheaper soldering station and put a genuine tip on it.
Most of the generic stations out there can use hakko 900m tips.

The tip quality makes up a significant percentage of what makes an iron good.
Greek letter 'Psi' (not Pounds per Square Inch)

Offline amyk

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2015, 07:35:39 am »
It looks like replacement heaters are unavailable, as these are mains-powered instead of the widely-available 24V type.

Offline GreyWoolfe

• Supporter
  • NW0LF
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2015, 12:54:29 pm »
You have to pay attention when trying to put original tips on clones.  There needs to be a fairly tight fit between tip and heater element or you won't get the thermal performance you want.  If there isn't an immediate dire need for a soldering, save up and get the FX-888D.  You won't be disappointed, especially if you pay the money and get OEM tips.  You don't want to use cheap clone tips for the reason mentioned above.
"Heaven has been described as the place that once you get there all the dogs you ever loved run up to greet you."

« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2015, 02:11:06 pm »