Author Topic: How to add temperature measurement to Uni-t 61E?  (Read 10572 times)

Offline timfayzTopic starter

How to add temperature measurement to Uni-t 61E?
« on: April 12, 2016, 06:59:52 am »
Hello all! I'm very new to electronics and I'm trying to get started with it. Recently, I've bought Uni-t 61E and realize that temperature measurement would be very useful in my little reasearches! :-DMM That is why I'm a little bit disapointed :(
But today an idea has came to my mind. I don't know how thermocouple exactly works exactly, but I assumed: maybe it works like the thermistor?!

Maybe I can connect them to my multimeter using "resistor measure" mode and based on resistence it has calculate actual temperature? What do you think?

Offline 3db

• Frequent Contributor
Re: How to add temperature measurement to Uni-t 61E?
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2016, 07:26:12 am »
It doesn't work like a thermistor.
It uses something called Seebeck effect.
The junction of two dissimilar  metals will produce a voltage proportional to temperature.
The type normally supplied with multimeters is type K.
Hope this helps.

3DB
« Last Edit: April 12, 2016, 07:28:12 am by 3db »

Offline MrSlack

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2016, 07:44:08 am »
I bought a UT61C as well as a UT61E. Problem solved and you can never have enough meters.

Offline tszaboo

• Super Contributor
  • Current job: ATEX product design
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2016, 07:59:39 am »
Thermocouple outputs voltage. Use a standard chart to determine the temperature. Usually the voltage is too low to be able to read it accurately, we are talking about less than 10mV.
Fluke has a thermocouple to millivolt "converter". It took the thermocouple input, linearised a and scaled it, so the output was 1mV=1K. It is called:
Fluke 80TK Thermocouple Module