Author Topic: I need a new desktop PC  (Read 3659 times)

Offline RobaroniTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • Retired EE
    • Design Specialties
I need a new desktop PC
« on: March 18, 2017, 10:17:12 pm »
Hi gang,
I wasn't sure where to post this but I figured I'd start here and see where it goes.

I've been running an HP8560w workstation for the last 6 or 7 years, really nice laptop, still works well but the battery is dying (never really use it so it's not important). I was setting up a new laptop for my wife and ran mine on the battery for awhile to the point where it wouldn't recover. I put it on my lab supply and got it high enough for the laptop to take over and now it's back up to full. The thing is that I got pretty nervous thinking of losing my machine in the middle of a job so I figured I'd get a desktop workstation while the laptop is still good and gradually move the files to the new machine. I thought I'd ask around to see what people are running.
I do CAD, CAM, EDA, etc. and just need a mainframe as I already have two monitors (plus the laptop display).
I really want to run at least three monitors, 4 would be better. Ideally I'd like to run around $1,500 or so. I can build a machine but personally I'd rather not spend the time researching all the individual components, cases, etc. although I do like the idea of adding and updating cards in the future.

Thanks for your help and views,
Rob

Online nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
Re: I need a new desktop PC
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2017, 12:59:26 am »
The 'for business' machines from Dell have worked very well for me and the rest of the family for the last decade. Stay away from the consumer crap they sell at the typical shopping mall. Better get a good machine with lesser specs than a machine which crashes 10 times a day.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.

Offline RobaroniTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor