Author Topic: Identifying safe/unsafe USB hubs? (Flash drive fried in hub.)  (Read 14974 times)

Offline lpc32Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
How would one identify a USB hub as safe/good vs. potentially dangerous?

I just got this cheap 7 port USB hub. I started by checking the ports with a USB flash drive (edit: while being just bus powered). The first port was okay, the second had Windows complain about an unknown device. Further checks revealed the USB drive is no longer recognized (but its insertion is identified), also without the hub, or on another computer.

It's a flash drive I've been using occasionally for several years without an issue, so I think the hub is to blame. I didn't test the hub further lest it fry something else.

Do you see anything obvious in the PCB that might fry connected devices? (Various things look fishy, but anything to lead to killed devices?)

Can anyone recommend a decently laid out, cheap, powered, 7-port hub off eBay or a China/Hong Kong online store?

The board is in a shiny/reflective plastic case (didn't get it from this store):

« Last Edit: March 21, 2014, 07:36:08 am by lpc32 »

Offline SL4P

• Super Contributor
  • There's more value if you figure it out yourself!
Re: Identifying safe/unsafe USB hubs? (Flash drive fried in hub.)
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2014, 07:25:32 am »
Unfortunately you had to open it to see the pretty awful soldering...
I have a neat Belkin desktop USB2 hub that has been plugging along for several years now.
Don't ask a question if you aren't willing to listen to the answer.

Offline PeterG

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2014, 07:33:36 am »
I remember reading about someone who used the wrong plugpack to power one of these. Turns out, windows did not complain but there was 12v on the power rails for the out going usb ports. He destroyed several usb drives before discovering this.

I would check the voltage of the supplied plugpack.

Regards
Testing one two three...