Author Topic: Low cost electric desoldering pump -which one?  (Read 20771 times)

Offline analogixTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Low cost electric desoldering pump -which one?
« on: April 01, 2017, 10:52:02 pm »
For desoldering components (through hole, single or double sided PCBs) I've been using my Japanese Goot GS-158 solder sucker with limited success.

With a lot of patience I've gotten the job done, but at the cost of risking damage to the PCB because of repeated attempts etc. I've also tried a soldering wick, adding new solder etc. but am looking for a better method. The aim is to remove the components, preferrably without damaging them, and definitely not damaging the PCB.

Mind you, I'm an occasional electronics hobbyist, so I can't jusify the cost for "pro" type equipment. So what I've come across is this 30W electric desoldering vacuum pump from eBay at around US$ 25:

As usual you probably get what you pay for, but if it does the job better than the manual solder sucker (better as in heating up the solder joint once and sucking the solder away, bringing minial stress to the PCB) then it'll do. Judging by , it seems to do the job pretty well.

Another option (even cheaper) is a manual, but heated solder sucker such as the 40W Duratool D01849 for around US$ 8 from electronics distributor Farnell NOTE: I'm not sure 40W is correct as it seems like a generic item available many places but with 30W power. 30W or 40W won't make that much difference, will it? Being sold through Farnell it might just be a little safer built (electrically) than the eBay one although an electrical pump seems tempting.

Has anyone here tried any of the above? What would you recommend?
« Last Edit: April 01, 2017, 11:12:10 pm by analogix »

Online kripton2035

• Super Contributor
    • kripton2035 schematics repository
Re: Low cost electric desoldering pump -which one?
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2017, 08:11:45 am »