Author Topic: Measure internal resistance of a battery with LCR meter?  (Read 28358 times)

Offline shadowlessTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Measure internal resistance of a battery with LCR meter?
« on: February 11, 2012, 08:24:04 pm »
Hi,

I can use my multimeter to measure the internal resistance of a battery. I have no experience with LCR meters, wonder if it can measure the impedance of a battery?

Offline Rerouter

• Super Contributor
  • Question Everything... Except This Statement
Re: Measure internal resistance of a battery with LCR meter?
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2012, 09:31:12 pm »
shadowless, how per-say are you measuring it with a multimeter?

the resistance range on a multimeter works by feeding through a constant current for the range and measuring the voltage drop for that current, and ususally doenst like a voltage being fed into it while measuring,

while if you inject current into a battery positive - positive, it should absorb most of it as a charge, or if the multimeter can only supply less than the voltage of the battery, may begin sinking current from the battery, (bettter multimeters generally can survive it, but still not good for them)

Offline IanB

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2012, 09:53:39 pm »
Although you can't use the resistance range of a multimeter directly, there are many ways to measure the internal resistance of a battery. Google is your friend. Here is one link with a short introduction:

http://www.buchmann.ca/Chap9-page2.asp

Offline kripton2035

• Super Contributor
    • kripton2035 schematics repository
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2012, 10:30:23 pm »
you need to measure the resistance while injecting an ac voltage
your multimeter injects a dc voltage to measure the resistance, it won't work

this esr meter can also give a good idea of the health of a battery:
http://kripton2035.free.fr/digital%20esr/esr-kaspars.html
explanations here :