Author Topic: NASA Apollo Launch Control Center PCB  (Read 9684 times)

Offline mikey12608Topic starter

NASA Apollo Launch Control Center PCB
« on: November 17, 2014, 06:09:36 pm »
I obtained this board from a estate sale a while back. The house use to belong to a retired NASA engineer from the Apollo Missions. He had a box written LCC (Launch Control Center) spare parts with these boards inside. I am no electronics expert but I am a space collector, so can anyone tell me what this board might be by looking at it?
« Last Edit: November 17, 2014, 06:49:41 pm by mikey12608 »

Offline LabSpokane

• Super Contributor
Re: NASA Apollo Launch Control Center PCB
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2014, 06:56:15 pm »
Looks like a slew of diode transistor logic gates.

Offline Alex Eisenhut

• Super Contributor
  • Place text here.
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2014, 11:56:25 pm »
It looks great, love the '60s front panel font and colors. Feels like you've unplugged HAL 9000.

Could be a bunch of multi-input NOR gates or something. That's a lot of diodes!

ICs were exhorbitant and transistors merely very expensive, this kind of board was the equivalent of 74 logic back then.
Hoarder of 8-bit Commodore relics and 1960s Tektronix 500-series stuff. Unconventional interior decorator.

Offline Paul Moir

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2014, 07:19:02 am »
I think it is some sort of DTL (Diode transistor logic) NOR gates like Alex and LabSpokane suggest.  Most things are in tens here; ten transistors, associated resistors and capacitors etc, but the input diodes are odd so we don'ty have ten identical gates.