Author Topic: Need pics of Metcal WS1 work stand magnets  (Read 5234 times)

Offline BillWojoTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Need pics of Metcal WS1 work stand magnets
« on: August 11, 2014, 05:06:58 am »
Decided to treat my self to a Metcal Solder station. Picked up a PS2E-01 power supply, MX-RM3E hand piece, DS1 desoldering gun and some tips for the hand piece and gun. Was trying to justify the high price of the WS1 work stand for the hand piece as I haven't seen a used one on ebay. So instead I picked up a nice WS4 work stand. The WS4 work stand doesn't have magnets to lower the temp of the tip when it's sitting idle. Probably not a big deal as this is never going to see heavy service as I'm just a hobbyist trying to fix an occasional board or do some simple repairs.
Still I'd like to see what kind of magnet is used and the placement of the magnet in relationship to the tip. Maybe a few photo's and even some dimensions would be great. I know a few folks on here have done some mods like this. I have a machine shop to make modifications to my stand so when it arrives I'd like to have some ideas to get started with it.
Thanks

BillWojo

Offline thmjpr

• Regular Contributor
Re: Need pics of Metcal WS1 work stand magnets
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2014, 04:02:48 am »
Was originally going to make a thread but some of the photos were poor. The magnets look like old school very large hard drive magnets:

BTW major flaw with this stand, if you use the brass sponge to clean off the tip, that area is not a sealed compartment. So, after a few months of soldering and you pick up the base, solder falls everywhere...

Its a simple fix, but considering how well the rest of the stand is designed I'm surprised they missed it.
Silicone added:

« Last Edit: August 13, 2014, 04:13:43 am by thmjpr »

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2014, 05:13:31 am »