Author Topic: Parkside PLSD 48 A1  (Read 7290 times)

Offline acidvenomTopic starter

Parkside PLSD 48 A1
« on: November 02, 2017, 08:14:38 pm »
Hello everyone!

I bought this soldering station from my local LIDL today, it was pretty cheap, and i saw another post on here that said it's cousin (PLS 48B1) is really bad.

LINK: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/reviews/parkside-pls-48b1-the-cheapest-%27soldering-station%27/

Now i'm no pro, but this one seems decent enough to me, and it seems they learned from it.

My thoughts so far compared to the previous post (I'll update this as i use it):

-The tips take solder without a problem, but they screw on, which might be a problem due to thermal expansion/contraction
-The cable is a bit stiffer, but not unusable. Also seems generously sized, both in length and width (but then again that might just be the insulation).
-The iron feels good, the rubberized stuff is nice and grippy, but not too rubbery.
-Heat up time from 0-300°C is about 40 seconds.
-Cool down time from 300-60°C is about 7-8 minutes.
-The iron and power cord are hardwired into the base.
-The base is nicely designed, with slots to store solder spools and spare bits.
-The tip and the metalwork is grounded.
-The base and the stand have rubber pads to hold them in place.
-It has 200,300 and 400 °C presets, which make selecting the right temperature easier than holding the +/- buttons.
-Temperature display is accurate to ~5°C
-I guess it doesn't use a transformer because the base is really, really light.

Now the only thing i would like better is if you could get spare handles, and if the same handles weren't hardwired into the base.