Author Topic: Protomat S103 - LPKF  (Read 158415 times)

Offline LPKF_USA

Re: Protomat S103 - LPKF
« Reply #25 on: May 01, 2013, 05:19:11 pm »
My university has an LPKF ProtoMat S63, we've had it for almost a year. Very simlar machine to yours, spindle is a bit slower and maybe some other small differences, but very similar. Here are some of my thoughts on the machine. I'm just a student who somehow manages to get involved with alot of stuff going on in the university, though, so keep that in mind.

We've had some major problems with it, more often than would be desired. We've had what I assume is the same problem happen aswell: when returning a bit to the holder, it misses and crashes the bit into the side of the holder, making a mess of the whole thing. We managed to bend the holder back into form each time it happened, though, and with some help from the local distributor, the problem was fixed and hasn't happened again. I don't recall what the fix was, though, sorry. Not even what was the root cause of that. I can ask another person who was involved with fixing the problem if he recalls it if I see him on skype over the weekend.

Other problems we've had include the spindle dropping the Universal Cutter bit from too high onto the adjustment slope, causing the bit tip to shatter with ~20% chance (that took a while to figure out that that was the problem); drills going too deep; drills not going deep enough; inconsistent universal cutter cutting width across the board and much more.