Author Topic: Thurbly Thandar Instruments (TTi) PSU quality ?  (Read 7924 times)

Offline BravoVTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • +++ ATH1
Thurbly Thandar Instruments (TTi) PSU quality ?
« on: March 15, 2017, 02:26:21 am »
Recently just bought an used TTi PL330QMD dual channels linear PSU (link) and have few questions ..

* Is it normal that TTi use CapXon electrolytic caps ? I mean "all", not just part of it, starting at the main control & logic board, down to the the bulk caps after the rectifier. Also these bulk caps are also 85 C rated, yeah, its well ventilated though, but 105 C rated should be better right ? CMIIW

* As it has 2 big step down transformers as 2 channels, the upper part of the iron core are left unsecured, is it fine leaving that like that ? As I'm not experienced enough, I thought these iron plates should be secured ? As the 50/60Hz will probably wiggling those iron plates when the transformer is loaded ? Or I'm worry too much ?  :-//

Appreciate any comments on these if its serious, like will those CapXon leak in the future ?
Should I clamp & secure the iron core with two long nut and bolt each ?

Or any other comments or insights regarding this particular TTi psu will be appreciated. TIA

Photos of the questioned items attached below.
« Last Edit: March 15, 2017, 07:11:41 am by BravoV »

Offline iainwhite

• Supporter
  • Measure twice...
Re: Thurbly Thandar Instruments (TTi) PSU quality ?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2017, 02:26:24 pm »
As far as the transformer goes, I think it will be just fine as it is. 
There are other photos of TTI supplies on the forum that show the same setup - bolts on on the bottom.   
(for example, here: tti-ql355t )

I think the other holes are probably to give the manufacturer the option of mounting the other way up in another application.
I guess if it really worries you, you could buy some bolts/nuts of the correct size and fit them yourself.

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor