Author Topic: Rework Recommendations please.. Want to replace 1155 and similar CPU sockets  (Read 2464 times)

Offline dicky96Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • Learn Electronics Repair
Hi guys

I've watched a few videos on youtube regards replacement of 1155, 1156, 1366 and other faulty CPU sockets.  This is something I am definitely wanting to try.  I have the required experience but not the right equipment

Of the videos I have watched I saw successful socket replacement using a Gaoyou 850 hot air station plus preheater in one video and an Achi IR PRO SC in another,  I also saw one slightly amusing attempt using very cheap home built kit though that didn't work in the end, but he did manage to actually desolder and resolder the socket which suprised me somewhat.

OK, so I have no experience of either the Gauyou 850 or the Achi IR Pro SC and in fact there seem to be some rather dubious reviews of both tools - but they did the job just fine from what I have watched.

Would the Quick 861DW plus a preheater be up to the job?
Would IR be better? (I worry about the hot air disturbing the caps in the centre of the socket)

The Quick 861DW I can pick up for £259. obviously I also need a preheater but they are not too expensive.
The Achi IR Pro I can get used for £500 and new for about £700
Gauyou 850 about £330 shipped from USA.  Plus cost of a preheater

Both the Quick and the Achi are in budget, in fact i could buy both if there was any good reason to do that. 

Any other options that you could recommended south of £1000 would be acceptable.. I don't really want to spend more than that unless I could be persuaded there was very good reason (meaning I would likely get a better return from my investment by being able to handle a wider range of jobs (BGA, GPU etc), or get much better success rates)

I know I can get 1155 sockets cheaply of aliexpress - I havent researched the availability of others.

best regards
Rich