Author Topic: RF Soldering Station Choices  (Read 3830 times)

Offline RF-EngineerTopic starter

• Contributor
RF Soldering Station Choices
« on: March 09, 2018, 01:01:57 pm »
I'm looking at RF-based soldering stations like those made by Metcal and Thermaltronics.  After searching the forum archives, I don't see a discussion of 13.56 MHz systems versus lower RF at 450-470 kHz.  It seems the heating technology is the same but with a different heating frequency.  So, is there a practical difference?

Paul

Offline GreyWoolfe

• Supporter
  • NW0LF
Re: RF Soldering Station Choices
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2018, 02:12:55 pm »
I have the Metcal MX-500P, 13.56 MHz.  The heating time is stupid fast, just a few seconds and the thermal recovery time is almost instantaneous, regardless of tip size being used or what I am soldering. I can't say anything about the lower frequency units, I have no experience with them.
"Heaven has been described as the place that once you get there all the dogs you ever loved run up to greet you."

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2018, 12:17:51 am »
Thanks for the feedback.  I placed an order through Tequipment.net for the Metcal MX-500AV. 

I was also looking at the Hakko FX100 with RF "power boost" but to me, it signaled a code name as an alternate technology to avert an existing patent claim on Oki/Metcal's SmartHeat technology.  Maybe not.  Anyway, I couldn't find much on it either.  I also looked at the Thermaltronics 9000 but wasn't impressed with the teardown video I saw.

Paul

Offline GreyWoolfe

• Supporter
  • NW0LF
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2018, 12:46:32 am »