Author Topic: Soldering station (EU)  (Read 17522 times)

Offline EphesosTopic starter

Soldering station (EU)
« on: March 25, 2015, 08:16:31 pm »
Hi,

I'm a software dev, with a basic understanding of electronics, so please excuse any ignorance below.
I'm looking for a soldering station in the 100 to 150 Euro range for my father(he is an electrical engineer). He has a few side projects at home, and uses a home made soldering gun together with an old station that doesn't work as well as it used to.

I googled a bit and looked through older threads on this forum and others. Ersa products seem to have nice price/quality ratio, and the iCon Pico fits into the budget. I also found some good recommendations for the Xytronic LF-3000 which is a bit cheaper than the Pico nano, but is rated with a bit more power, and appears to weigh more(does that mean better build quality/future proof?).
Also, I've read that soldering guns provide more power/heat than a station, so I'm not sure if I should also look for something like the Weller 8100

Currently I am leaning more towards the Xytronic, as it seems to be build a little better(to my totally ignorant eye).
Are there better picks in this price range for the EU market? Also, what extra tips should I buy(maybe spares too?). I don't want to ask my dad these question as this will be part of a birthday present.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2015, 08:19:08 pm by Ephesos »

Offline nanofrog

• Super Contributor
Re: Soldering station (EU)
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2015, 10:28:59 pm »
Couple of notes.
  • Definitely get a temperature controlled station.
  • I'd skip the Xytronics with that budget, and get a unit made by a premier manufacturer.
  • Get one that has ESD protection (Ersa iCon Pico does not have this; Nano does).

The one model that would fit your budget given your location would be:
Hakko FX-888D