Author Topic: Soldering Stations - Weller vs JBC  (Read 23978 times)

Offline yngndrwTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Soldering Stations - Weller vs JBC
« on: July 01, 2016, 06:05:03 pm »
Hello all,

I know that this question seems to be asked every couple of years, but I haven't been able to find a decisive answer in the previous threads and they don't seem to take into account the latest offerings. I was hoping to get some advice related to my specific requirements.

First of all I'm a hobbyist, I do a range of soldering from through hole to large cables (My latest was an 8 AWG silicone cable into an XT-90 connector which I did with very poor results.) and have recently started doing some SMT work. (Have a microscope for this and started off with those little SMT practice boards you can get on eBay with good results.) I've also had issues with smaller stuff such as soldering a 1cm piece of 2.5mm^2 solid-core cable to a test pad with this iron. I don't go through many tips so tip cost isn't really a factor for me.

I currently have a Weller WMP with a WDD 80V power unit and a 1.6mm chisel tip. I use a mixture of leaded and un-leaded solder (Mainly use 0.5mm or 0.3mm) as I try to get experienced with both, neither give me much of an issue except that I find that I need to use a higher temperature to get the solder to melt at a rate that I want it to and this means that the tip oxidises quicker preventing solder from sticking between wipes. (I use 350-400C for leaded and 400-450C for un-leaded) I believe the active tip irons will help with this allowing me to reduce my temperatures a little while retaining the fast melting. I really like the short tip-to-grip distance on the WMP iron.

So I've been considering a few options:

1) Buy a WSP 80 iron for the larger stuff - This can be used with my existing power unit but only helps with the larger stuff and uses the LT tips which I've heard bad things about. This is by far the cheapest option. (~£150)